Radiator balancing

Options

1) Any thermometer suggestions for balancing radiators.?

2) Once you have smart TRVs is balancing still needed as they will regulate flow from the front end rather than the outlet from the rear end of the rad?

cheers

Best Answers

• Montage
    Montage ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

1) I have a TPI 343 for flow and return (assuming that's what you want to measure).

2) Whether you have so-called smart TRVs or TRVs doesn't change anything.

• eezytiger
    eezytiger ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options
    I'm no heating engineer, but it sounds like your pump might be running too fast and forcing water to flow too quickly upstairs, thus causing the noise. Opening the first two radiators might reduce the noise upstairs, by diverting the water flow, but it is not very efficient.

If there is anything you can do to reduce the pump speed, and to reduce the flow through the first two rads, I think you will save costs and have a much better installation. Maybe better heat distribution and comfort too.
  • Montage
    Montage ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

You can’t really balance two rads, you are balancing the whole system.

Using a TRV to do this is not really achieving it. And I won’t get started regarding so-called smart TRVs.

You have a heating system, not a pile of components. Have a look at the Heat Geek channel and see the holistic approach to heating. Or Urban Plumbers.

• eezytiger
    eezytiger ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Have the TRVs wide open, so that only the lockshield valves are limiting the flow. You can use Boost to open them all up for half an hour.
  • eezytiger
    eezytiger ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options
    @hipponax1973
    Right now it is -4C outside.

Heating has been on all night with no setback. All rooms are at their expected temperature.

Boiler flow limit is set to 55C, although the boiler typically might overshoot the limit by 3C.