Heating power percentage and calling for heat

Options
1235»

Comments

• I actually have the same boiler as you, the 38cdi. My settings are pretty similar to yours. Range rated to minimum power output, and max flow temp at 5 on the dial which is about 65 to 70c. I only have one of my rooms able to fire the boiler and this seems to allow the rest of the SRTs to reach their set temps in independent mode pretty well.. the only difference really is you have adjusted your pump speed.
  • stevo1011
    Options

Hi @eezytiger

I have been reading many posts about how you run your system with great interest. I am a newbie to the system and trying to find my way, like many others.

I wanted to know how you have been getting on with the latest settings of the one room acting as zone controller and the rest of the house independent.

Also, do you close the door to this unused bedroom with a setback temperature?

or any internal doors?

TIA

• eezytiger
    eezytiger ✭✭✭
    Options
    @stevo1011 I continue to run my system with just the lounge controlling the boiler. It is set to 19C. All other rooms are set to 20C so that they are allowed to reach that high as a maximum temperature limit.

In practice most rooms don't get all the way there, but are close enough to be comfortable.

I have experimented with various temperature setbacks overnight - everything from turning heating off to just a 1C setback - and have settled for now on no setback at all. i.e. The lounge is set to 19C 24X7.

I might implement a bit of setback to 16C when it gets bitterly cold and it's almost a pointless and needless battle to maintain temps +20C above outdoor temps, but for now I have no setback.

In this way the whole system works in "low and slow" mode without the big sprint to raise temps in the morning. There are modest energy savings to be made by lowering temps overnight, but not enough, IMHO, to bother for cost reasons, maybe for comfort if bedrooms are too warm.