How do I change the hot water temperature through Ebus on a Glow-Worm Ultimate 30c

Options
I have a Glow-Worm Ultimate 30c, which is a combi, wired in via Ebus and all is working as it should. The only thing I'm unable to do is to control the hot water temperature. The slider appears in the app, but the change in temperature doesn't reflect on the boiler.

With Glow-Worms, if you install one of their own Ebus controllers (Climapro, etc.), you can only adjust the hot water temperature via the controller, as the boiler doesn't allow you to adjust temperature, due to the Ebus overriding set temperatures.

To work around this, I've changed the max hot water temperature under the installer settings. I've spoken to Tado and keep getting told that it will work if I buy a Wireless Temperature Sensor, however I don't see how that would allow someone to change the hot water temperature.

I'm also a gas engineer, so just wanted to find out if this is a strange limitation or it's just not working for me. If I was to install this in somebody else's heating system in the same way, I'd like to leave them with a way of changing the hot water temperature, as they shouldn't need to go into the installer level to adjust it.

I've been "guaranteed" by Tado that it will work, so am tempted to try it out. I just don't want to spend £90 on something when I really don't understand how it'll solve the problem. As I say, I can work around it myself, I just want to understand what I'd have to buy if I was installing it on a customers system.

Best Answer

• johnnyp78
    johnnyp78 ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options
    I think this has come up before. Tado requires a smart thermostat/wireless temp sensor in the system for hot water control. I think it’s just one of the quirks of the system. No idea why it couldn’t just be done in the app but that’s how they’ve programmed it.

Answers