Mitsubishi Ecodan ASHP

Options

I have just installed a Mitsubishi Ecodan ASHP and therefore the Tado bridge, Extension box and Wireless Thermostat which were used for the gas boiler are redundant. All radiators have manual thermostatic valves and these are now the only room temperature controls..

I don't think it is practical to try to use the Tado equipment to control the ASHP, but I wonder if it would be worthwhile to buy some wireless controlled TRV's and if so how do I implement it?

Would appreciate any thoughts.

Answers

• GrilledCheese2
    Options

I’m no expert in heat pumps but I know enough about them that you don’t want to be using a smart thermostat to routinely switch them on and off. Otherwise you will have a low COP and a bigger electricity bill. So you’re doing the right thing by not using the existing Tado thermostat to control the ASHP.

If you want to independently control the temperature in some rooms then keep only the bridge and buy the radiator valves. The valves will connect to the internet via the bridge and will appear in the app, but obviously have no control over the ASHP.

• Hi Grilled Cheese, Thanks for your answer. I was thinking along those lines and wondering if the centrally mounted bridge could serve the majority of the radiators in bedrooms, kitchen etc.

Would I have individual temperature control on them? Home and away?

It is preferable to run the ASHP continuously even though we have a 100l buffer tank, but I have found that this results in the existing TRV's making too much noise when throttling back during the night time, so it would be handy to have a timed lower temperature setting in the bedroom(s)

I also wondered if I should use the wireless wall thermostat to control the two rads in the lounge, thus having the additional Tado app features

• GrilledCheese2
    Options