Individual Geofence Option

Comments

• May understanding of Energy IQ is its a bit like a smart meter. If you look at it regularly it can show you what you have used and what is forecast. So some use, but making a system more efficient should be the main aim. Hence the need yo geofence radiator thermostats.

interesting that the sales pitch for rad thermostats is a little misleading about their integration and lack of geofencing

• thanks for suggestion

• @Rob

Thanks for your transparency! I get it that being open is hard and doesn't feel comfortable for most of us.

If you need help in lobbying, feel free to reach out. I've got some experience in helping companies in these kind of things.

Cheers,

Willem

• Hi, IFTT option if „leave specified area“ then „turn heating off specified room“ works for me
  • thanks for suggestion

• @fairchildberlin can IFTTT make the heating resume to the normal schedule when you return. What ever state that should be (on/off/set temp etc)?

• Would like to see this too - only I use my office so no point heating it if I'm not in

• @fairchildberlin @mallbutt IFTTT seems nice but needs some programming if you want to really make it smart (not heat if it is already warm outside, not heat during the night, etc) Of course it is possible, but requires a pro subscription to IFTTT and setting it up without intervering Tado's own smartness so to say, is not an easy solution.
  • I’ve not read all 5 pages of this thread, but an alternative to using IFTT is to use home assistant. I’ve got this setup, so that when the person leaves it sets tado to off in that room and then when they return it changes back to auto, which then respects the configured schedule. The only slight disadvantage of this setup is you don’t get the pre heat like you do if tado detects you are approaching home